Posted by: Heather Coleman | December 31, 2009

Katharine Hepburn Was a Wise Woman in My Book

Yesterday the U.S. Postal Service announced that actress Katharine Hepburn would be getting a stamp in 2010. I subsequently tweeted a great quote by Katharine Hepburn, but there are so many to choose from. Another that stands out to me is, “…as one goes through life one learns that if you don’t paddle your own canoe, you don’t move.” To me the quote speaks to her fierce independence and pull yourself up by your boot straps attitude.

Although some may have found her to be abrasive, I was always drawn to the honesty that Hepburn spoke with and to her strength of character. I was very young when I learned about Katharine by watching 1981’s On Golden Pond. It is the only movie of hers that I have ever seen. Even though I have not watched much of her work, I have always been fascinated by the woman. I believe that my grandmother was also a fan of Hepburn, possibly stemming from my grandmother meeting her during her work as caretaker for a small cottage located near Hepburn’s Old Saybrook, Connecticut home.

She lived a fantastic life, was well-educated, won a record number 4 Oscars for her work, even performed her own stunts, all before dying at the ripe old age of 96.  She once said, “With all the opportunities I had, I could have done more. And if I’d done more, I could have been quite remarkable.” Personally, I think she was quite remarkable, more for the person she remained than the persona she became.

Leave a Reply

Categories

