Posted by: Heather Coleman | August 6, 2010

Social media & privacy: does it even exist?

Bathrooms at Russian Children's Camp (1990)

Expecting privacy when it comes to social media is a bit like expecting privacy in a restroom when there are no doors on the bathroom stall. It really doesn’t exist. You may have a little bit of a divider between you and the rest of the world, but your “business” is pretty much out there for the world to see. The questions is: are you going to let that stop you from doing your business? For me, the answer is no. I only share as much as I’m willing to be completely public and I try to conduct myself online in a way that mirrors how I am IRL (in real life). I’m definitely a proponent of transparency. I also think we should take more care in the conversations we are having online and try to avoid saying things that we wouldn’t be willing to say to someone’s face.

A few more words about the bathrooms in Russia.

Responses

  1. Spot on regarding transparency, and, the need to approach what we share, what we hold back in a way that makes sense for the individual. It’s actually a new skill that should probably be taught in grade school, along-side writing.

    (Also, for the record, the summer camps I attended didn’t (even) have the dividers: Transparency came early for me!)

  2. That’s how I live my life every day. Every. Day.

  3. I agree with this wholeheartedly. I do think; however, that there is a difference between ‘transparency’ and ‘sharing everything.’ Nevertheless, I wouldn’t say anything online that doesn’t 100% represent ME. Once I put it out there via Twitter, Facebook, my blog, whatever – I stand by it. What you see is what you get. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

