Posted by: Heather Coleman | April 3, 2012

HAWMC Day Three: My Superpower of Choice

Superhero girl with cape

If you had a superpower – what would it be? How would you use it? This is today’s question and topic for the Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge. My superpower of choice: flying. As cliche as it is, I have always found myself dreaming about flying. According to a dream dictionary this has to do with ambition and being in control of my life. Flying successfully in a dream means I can expect to achieve my ambitions without too much trouble. It also is a very common dream that can be interpreted as largely sexual (thank you Sigmund Freud). I’m going to stick with the ambition angle.

When I am flying in my dreams I often feel at peace. It is a soothing dream to me. And yes, I’m often flying successfully in my dreams. As far as my ambitions go, I do think things that I have wanted to achieve have generally come easily to me. That’s not to say there wasn’t work involved, but just that when I put my mind to something…I usually get it.

I recently watched Oprah’s Master Class interview (OWN/FIOS channel 161) with Jon Bon Jovi. I became even more enamored with him listening to how passionate he is about making a difference in this world and giving back to his community. Now that makes him a “rock star” in my book. There was a part in the interview where Oprah introduced him as always “aiming high and still climbing, looking for that next mountain.” Jon talked about the “50 year old who just started doing X today….that these people are the inspirations”. He said, “Anytime that you think you’ve hit the top of the mountain, the truth of the matter is, you’ve just reached another mountain and it’s there to climb over.” He shared milestone moments in his career and how when they had done X he thought they had made it, up until they reached the next milestone. He ended the Master Class by saying, “Each step along the way is just a life’s lesson and it gives you the ammunition to go on and be excited about the next day.”

I try to be excited about each and every day. Some days it is easier than others. I guess that’s what makes it LIFE. As Katharine Hepburn once said, “I never lose sight of the fact that just being is fun.” I for one am thankful to just be. An acquaintance of mine recently shared a personal story of how he suffered a heart attack and was in a coma for ten days. I recognized that we both share a common outlook on life having survived extreme situations (mine was postpartum psychosis). He said that when people say to him, “it was good to see you”, he now responds with “it was good to be seen.” That’s a powerful response and a message for all of us to really think about.

So how does all of this relate to flying? Well, if flying in your dreams is truly about achieving your life’s ambitions then I think I am well on my way to getting my superpower…if only in my dreams!

To learn more about the Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge, visit the WEGO Health Blog.

Leave a Reply

Categories

