Posted by: Heather Coleman | April 6, 2012

HAWMC Day Five: Finding My Smile Again

And Smile

And smile by fangchun15 on Flickr

Today’s task is to write a post inspired by an image and try and relate it to my health focus: postpartum psychosis. What intrigued me about this photo is how happy it instantly made me feel. All it took was just looking at someone else smiling. It felt almost as contagious as a yawn. Which got me thinking. Would something so simple have helped when I was facing the darkest part of depression from the medications I was on? I’m not sure, but at the time I would have tried anything as a step in the right direction. I can remember how it felt just trying to walk from the parking lot to my office building. Every step felt as though I was trying to walk in quicksand. The simplest of tasks were like climbing Mount Everest to me…seemingly impossible. But as I got help and talked about my feelings, each day got a tiny bit easier and before I  knew it I was smiling again. I was able to enjoy the simple things in life…my family, my friends, music, and nature.

To learn more about the Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge, visit the WEGO Health Blog.

Leave a Reply

Categories

