Posted by: Heather Coleman | April 13, 2012

HAWMC Day 11: Theme Song for My Life

Imagine your health focus or blog is getting its own theme song. What would the lyrics be? What type of music would it be played to? The first song that came to mind was “Sing” by My Chemical Romance.

 

I love the following parts of this song:

For every time that

They want to count you out

Use your voice every single time

You open up your mouth

Sing it for the boys, sing it for the girls

Every time that you lose it, sing it for the world

Sing it from the heart, sing it ’til you’re nuts

Sing it out for the ones that’ll hate your guts

I talked last week about the reason I write about my health and the simple fact that I survived postpartum psychosis. Which is why every chance I get, I take the opportunity to share my voice and to “sing” it to the world. I’m grateful just to be alive! I want to turn my painful experience into something positive for the rest of the world. I hope that it inspires other moms to ask for and receive the help they need rather than suffering in silence with postpartum depression. You are not alone.

To learn more about the Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge, visit the WEGO Health Blog.

Leave a Reply

Categories

