Posted by: Heather Coleman | April 22, 2012

HAWMC Day 13: Ten Things I Couldn’t Live Without

The ten things I need (or love) the most:

#10 – Chocolate. Let’s face it, I’m a girl and chocolate has to be on the list somewhere. To be specific, dark chocolate.

#9 – Game of Thrones. Our new #1 favorite show. I would be very sad if I didn’t have this show to entertain me.

#8 – My iPhone. Like so many others, I’ve become increasingly dependent on my phone. I use it for reminders, music, pictures, and occasionally to talk to other people.

#7 – Steamed clams, grilled cheeseburgers, and corn on the cob. My birthday meal every year and just some of the best food I enjoy.

#6 – My mother’s aquamarine ring. My father and I bought it for her one year for Mother’s Day and she gave it to me a few years ago. It’s beautiful and I treasure it dearly.

#5 – My wedding dress. I didn’t have a big wedding, we just made a trip to the county courthouse on April Fool’s Day, 2003, but I wore the dress I wore as the maid of honor for my best friend’s wedding. It was simple and ivory lace and it already had good memories associated with it.

#4 – My car. As much as I hate dealing with cars, it gets me from point A to B for work, shopping, taking the kids to school and activities and even a random day trip every now and then. If I didn’t have my car, I’d be pretty limited in the places I could go.

#3 – My computer. My husband got it for me for Christmas a couple years ago and taught me how to build it myself. There was something very empowering about that project and made me appreciate the technology even more. It allows me to share pictures, stories, ideas, conversations, and more with friends and strangers all over the world.

#2 – My photos/camera. I love taking pictures, mainly of my children, but also of everyday things I see in the world around me. I like simple things – flowers, nature, trees, etc.

#1 – My memory box that I’ve had since I was about 8 or 10 years old. It’s got a unicorn design on it and is filled with report cards, letters/notes from friends, cards, concert ticket stubs, yearbooks and other memories that I treasure more than any other “thing” I have.

To learn more about the Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge, visit the WEGO Health Blog.

Leave a Reply

Categories

