Posted by: Heather Coleman | April 3, 2013

#HAWMC Day 3: One Picture to Represent Postpartum Psychosis

Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge (#HAWMC) prompt for today: post a picture that symbolizes your condition and experiences. I’m cheating (a little). I found a picture that really resonated with me about my experience with postpartum psychosis, but it came with a song, so I’m sharing that as well.

Turtle Mother Song

Turtle Mother Song – © Helena Nelson-Reed

“A turtle mother, this big heart of mine is enduring, this heart is wise, this heart is strong, this heart is a drum. This old heart sounds a tattoo in harmony with the ancient heart of Earth herself. My ear close to the ground, I listen to our two hearts beating in tandem, and fulfill my purpose within the great hope of season, tide, sun, moon and stars. I live in a quiet manner, live in a sacred manner, live in a dignified manner.”

~ Helena Nelson-Reed (learn more about the artist and author on her website)

What do you see?

Leave a Reply

Categories

