Posted by: Heather Coleman | April 16, 2013

#HAWMC Day 15: Sharing and Caring for Boston

Boston Marathon Memorial

Photo credit: Jennifer Lynn Kanter

I didn’t find the time yesterday morning to write a post for the “sharing” challenge and by the time I was ready to write, I was instead watching in horror with the rest of the Nation as the tragedy unfolded near the finish line of the Boston Marathon. I definitely didn’t feel right posting on social media about anything other than helpful information or positive thoughts and prayers for the people of Boston.

Today I would rather use the topic of “sharing” to focus on caring for the Boston community, especially in light of the unfortunate events that transpired yesterday. I want to showcase some helpful resources and posts that I came across on social media following the explosions.

1. This is an ongoing investigation. If you have information, photos, or video you think could help the authorities, please call 1-800-494-TIPS.

2. You can use Google’s Person Finder if you are looking for information on someone or have information to share on someone.

3. Donate blood. Here’s where you can go in Massachusetts, but it’s a good idea no matter where you live.

4. If you are willing to open up your home and share available space with people who have been affected by these events, please fill out the form for temporary lodging.

5. I choose to focus on the immediate help that was provided by first responders and everyday citizens, as well as the outpouring of thoughts and prayers for the victims and their families. I read a tweet that talked about several marathon runners finishing the race and then going back to take the shirt off their backs to bandage wounds. I can’t confirm it, but I certainly believe THAT is the world we live in.

Finally, I want to share an important reminder about using social media, or any form of communication really, you need to THINK, which means asking yourself:

T – Is it true?
H – Is it helpful?
I – Is it inspiring?
N – Is it necessary?
K – Is it kind?

If the answer is “no” or “I don’t know” to any of those questions, you might want to rethink what you are sharing and WHY.

Leave a Reply

Categories

