Posted by: Heather Coleman | April 18, 2013

#HAWMC Day 18: I Take It Back (Remorse)

I'm sorry

Today’s prompt: Write about a time that you lashed out at someone close to you because of frustration/fear/anger resulting from your health condition and you wish you could take it back. Forgive yourself and let it go.

The first, and really only, incident that came to mind was an argument with my mother-in-law about a year and a half ago. It started with her feelings being hurt around my son’s school project, which involved family photos. I soon became defensive and the conversation quickly went downhill from there. Before I knew it, I was screaming, and at one point I yelled something about her not understanding what it was like to be sick like me (having a mental health issue).

I had never ever used my illness as an excuse like that and I regret doing so. I also really regret letting my emotions get out of control and not being able to have a calm conversation about the original issue. I think at times we are so similar that we end up butting heads. Truth is I adore her and how much support she gives to my husband and me, and especially how loving of a grandmother she is to our children. But I know that everyone says things out of anger that they wish they hadn’t sometimes. So in this case, I forgive myself and hope that she has too.

Is there anything you regret doing or saying because of your health condition?

Leave a Reply

Categories

